Makes ya wanna think.

Forward!

I realize I’ve been letting Facebook cannibalize this blog. I post daily updates on Facebook – it’s been a great social hub for me – and updating the blog just never happens. So here goes – the Recent Life and Successes of Droog:

My health continues to improve! I am working on dealing with the pain caused by my kryptonite tasks as it happens and am having some success.

I started jogging a few weeks ago and it’s been great for me. I run to the mailbox – 1 1/3 mile roundtrip – every other day:

Yesterday I went on a 4 mile hike/run on a beautiful stretch of the Ice Age Trail along McKenzie Creek with Brook and it was exhilarating. I love trailrunning! I now enjoy exercising again – after 10 years during which it was just too painful.

I am well over halfway through my rewrite of Hel’s Bet! I’m on page 507 out of 805. I had a breakthrough week last week – 106 pages – because I ran into a streak of chapters that needed only light rewriting. I am going to try to finish the book this month. I am confident I will sell it.

My amazing writing group continues to kick booty. Aliette de Bodard got a 3 book deal with Angry Robot.

We’ve had some bear problems at The Pad in the last few months:

Travis treed 3 bears in the last 2 months

Travis treed 3 bears in the last 2 months, this one just 100 feet from the cabin.

I can’t leave my trashcan out on the road the night before the trash truck comes or a bearĀ  munches on it.

The loons have 2 chicks! They are already about 2/3′s the size of their parents and confident divers. The parents are constantly on guard because of hungry Bald Eagles:

This Bald Eagle was hanging around on Ogre Island watching the loon family. The parents hooted warnings and kept tight with the chicks.

This Bald Eagle was hanging around on Ogre Island watching the loon family. The parents hooted warnings and kept tight with the chicks.

The Tamarack Bog has been dry and the pitcher plants have sent up their weird little flowers:

My new used Jeep Cherokee, Casey, is a champ! It’s a solid car:

I’m doing great and plan to do even better once I get this dang book out the door.

4 responses

  1. Maggie Bauer

    Nice socks!

    August 10, 2009 at 6:58 am

  2. myrna

    You are an amazing man with gentle strength and inner power.

    August 14, 2009 at 7:19 am

  3. Anonymous

    It is sad re- reading the distance you made and lost. But gives me hope that you once again can reach the more controlled pain. That once again you can hike and one time again, feel the freedom. I sooooooooooo feel for every second of you pain.
    I have confidence that your move will be good for you. Love you dearest friend. Myrna

    February 27, 2012 at 9:15 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers