Makes ya wanna think.

Clarion West Write-a-thon Goal: Finish Channel Zilch and Seek an Agent

I’m taking part in Clarion West’s Write-a-thon. Please visit my page and make a donation to sponsor me: http://clarionwest.org/events/writeathon/DougSharp

I owe a lot to Clarion West. The six weeks I spent in the workshop in the summer of 2002 was one of the most intense stretches of my life. Six professional writers spent a week with 16 of us. We wrote a story each week and critiqued each others and listened to the pros take apart our art and talk about being professional writers. I made some great friends at CW and 3 of them are in my online writing group.

My goals for the Write-a-thon:

I will finish my novel Channel Zilch and start seeking an agent for it.

­Specific goals:

  • Finish final polish of manuscript by July 1st
  • Write a query letter
  • Write short and long synopses
  • Once query is written send at least 5 per week to agents
  • Blog at least 3 times a week
  • Do additional PR work
  • It’s been a while since I blogged. I’ve been pouring all my words into the book. The biggest news since the last post is that I cut the old Hel’s Bet manuscript in half to turn it into two books. It was 190k words long, which is way too long for most agents to consider. Now I’ve got a 95k book – Channel Zilch – and am about a week away from finishing it.

    The Write-a-thon started yesterday and I’ve had 2 great days of writing. I started with 41 edit notes and am down to 29 today. Once I finish I’ll write a query letter and start huntin agent!

    My first publication – The Flying Squids of Zondor – comes out on July 15th from Panverse Publishing’s Eight Against Reality. Dario got the first shipment from the printer and it’s a fine-looking book:

    Can’t wait to hold my copy!

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 123 other followers