Makes ya wanna think.

Ice on Martel Lake

Today’s ice and snow will melt next week when it gets up to 50. It’s nice to have a preview of Winter.

Wisconsin’s annual War Against Deer started today. Neighbors to the south built a major anti-deer emplacement. They started blazing away at dawn. I woke up with a traumatized Travis trembling and panting on top of me. Mika is unusually affectionate today because of all the gunfire.

I blast loud music to cover the sounds of the epic battle, which relaxes the dogs somewhat. The next 9 days of deer season will be trying for all 3 of us.

2 responses

  1. Lyn

    Hey Droog, I’m so sorry for your doggies (and the deer!) The cutting edge between human and wild habitats is always bloody. ;-( Love the pictures, as always. It looks like it will be a very long, very cold winter so it’s just as well you got your woodpile well stocked! I’ll be mulling some wine soon myself: Vancouver is too far from the Caribbean for me, and I’m missing my boat! It looks like we’ll be here for at least another three months, maybe longer. Cuddle up. Hibernation seems like a good idea. xoxox -L.

    November 19, 2011 at 4:49 pm

  2. Rod Janzen

    Doug:
    A few weeks ago, after receiving a copy of the Regent’s Park College newsletter, I googled the names of a few people from that period in my life who I thought might have done something interesting. It appears that you have.I also ordered your book from amazon. Among other things I recall climbing scaffolding ladders on the side of a church on Broad or High Street on my 21st birthday; also that you were writing a book, planned to become an elementary schoolteacher, etc. Personally I have published a number of academic works — on communal/utopian societies and Plain religious groups.
    Rod Janzen
    .

    November 26, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers