Makes ya wanna think.

Long, Hard Winter

This Winter I had to haul my supplies into The Pad (my cabin) on a sled.Hauling Laundry on the Sled

The last 200 yards of the road are too twisty for the snowplow.

I use a belly-band designed for skijoring but instead of harnessing the dogs I harness the supply sled.

Doug hauling sled

I haul groceries in, laundry in and out, and trash out.

I take one trip (14 miles) a week into the big city (pop. 1,200) of Luck to get groceries and drop off my laundry.  Every other week I haul my trashcan to the car and drive it the 1.5 miles to the nearest paved road where the trash hauler picks it up.

sm_08_02_21-winter-pix-021.jpg

Of course Mika loves to haul me while I haul the sled.

sm_08_03_27-various-end-of-winter-029.jpg

The snow is still about a week away from wearing out. I’ll probably haul the sled through the mud for a week or so after that. The road has to dry out before I can drive the car up to the cabin.

I’ve had a blast hauling supplies. Makes me feel like a pioneer in the wilderness.

One response

  1. Pingback: ChipWits Recruiting and Snowlocked Cabin « Walden 3.0

Leave a Reply

