Makes ya wanna think.

Fresh corn – One of the glories of Summer

Steaming corn on the cob drenched in butter and flecked with salt and pepper – one of my favorite meals.

I kicked off the first ChipWits contest in many weeks. I had a great weekend of coding. The game is getting tight. I am down to a small list of pre-release tasks. Margaret’s new interface art is great.

I put all my energy into ChipWits, so wasn’t able to keep Operation American Freedom moving forward. I am putting that project aside. Time to rewrite Hel’s Bet.

I saw the baby swans for the first time in weeks. Two of the three cygnets are still alive. I was sure they’d been killed by coyotes or eagles.  I paddled into the marshy bay last week and was overjoyed the see the male swan on top of the beaver lodge. When he saw our canoe he hustled his family deep into the rushes. The two young ones are grey.

2 responses

  1. John Freeman

    You don’t know me. I worked with your father at Northern Natural Gas and Vortex. His name came up in a discussion today and I remembered you had put some information on his funeral service on the web that was very well written and meaningful. I remember there were some great and inspirational stories on the site that I wanted to look up again but I could not find it. I believe your father was a great man and he helped me through some things. He as truly a man ahead of his time. He spoke of you often and you could tell he loved you. I’ll bet he was a great dad. Anyway, good look in future endeavors. BTW, I don’t agree with your political leanings but that’s what makes it a great country.

    August 26, 2008 at 2:22 pm

  2. John, Thanks for dropping by. My father had a big impact on many people. What a guy.

    I am in the midst of redesigning my own website, so some of my pages about Dad are down. They can still be found on the web archive here:
    http://web.archive.org/web/20050213113726/www.channelzilch.com/jack/index.htm

    His book “Cold Fronts”, about his life and career as a military meteorologist, is hosted by the Air Weather Recon Assoc:
    http://www.awra.us/coldfronts/ColdFronts.html

    Politically I am a chip off the old Dad. He took me to my first civil rights march in DC in 1962. He was a proud liberal and Dem. Reading Cold Fronts you can see his politics shine through.

    He was a great Dad and I miss him every day.

    Thanks for getting in touch.

    August 27, 2008 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

