Makes ya wanna think.

It’s 5 below and my pipes just friz!

When you lose water in a remote cabin your level of civilization falls back about a century. I’ve got a short run of pipe going from my cabin to the pump that I have been trying to freezeproof since I bought this place. Electric heater tape and insulation added last year – 2 pipe freezes last winter – added another coil of heater tape and more insulation this fall – and it’s frozen again.

Somehow I’ve never busted a pipe. If that happens tonight I’ll be melting snow to cook with tomorrow morning. Which is lots of fun. I would not have moved to this place if I wasn’t an experienced winter camper.

The snow isn’t deep enough yet to close down my road so I may be driving to buy jugs of water tomorrow. I love this place.

I am relaxing my way back to health and productivity and hope to post  deep thoughts and thrilling exploits more frequently.

I’ve benefited from a long break from programming. Coding is hard on this old brain.

My main job is to rewrite Hel’s Bet. It’s going to be a hell of a book.

5 responses

  1. Craig

    I heard that licking the pipe can help warm it up….

    December 11, 2008 at 10:08 pm

  2. Thanks a lot! I had to use a blowtorch to thaw my tongue from the frozen pipe. The burn cream tastes terrible.

    And the pipes are still friz.

    I’m pretty much doomed.

    December 12, 2008 at 12:07 am

  3. Craig

    Try licking harder? 🙂

    December 12, 2008 at 9:26 am

  4. It worked! See the next post. Now I get to sue you for flooding my cabin ;^}

    December 13, 2008 at 3:35 am

Leave a Reply

