Makes ya wanna think.

ChipWits Recruiting and Snowlocked Cabin

We got some great candidates for both producer and programmer so I shut down recruiting. We are going to take our time talking to them and deciding. I look forward to introducing the new ChipWits team.

Having these great candidates takes a huge weight off my shoulders because I know ChipWits is going to be in good hands.

The last few days have been productive for the Hel’s Bet rewrite. I am reading through a paper prinout – 650 pages! – with a red pen scribbling edits. I’m cutting a lot of dross, which feels great.

The Pad is now snowlocked for the winter! I tried to get up the snow-packed hill once too often:

car-stuck-in-snow

The hill is steep and you have to gun it as you round the corner. Oops.

Brook helped me haul the car out and suggested I might want to give up on the hill for the season.

Good call. Part of the fun of living at The Pad is getting snow-locked and sledging in supplies and sledging out laundry and trash.

I got a great new sledge this year:

My new sledge

My new sledge holding a couple bags of laundry.

It’s deeper and sturdier than my orange sledge from last winter.

I buckled my belly band to my waist and let the dogs out the gate:

Mika pulls me as I pull the sledge

Mika pulls me as I pull my laundry.

It’s 200 yards to the car:

The gentle slope down from The Pad to the car.

The gentle slope down from The Pad to the car.

When I got back from my laundry run I took the dogs for a walk:

Mika on Lake Almira.

Mika on Lake Almira.

Me in the same balaclava hat I've worn for decades.

Me in the balaclava hat I've worn for decades.

Ogre Island looked grim:

Humans beware! It's Ogre Island.

Humans beware! It's Ogre Island.

I love my little slice of Earth.

Leave a Reply

