Makes ya wanna think.

Rock show for the ages: Peru Ubu’s David Thomas, Suicide Commandos, Bush Tetras

I highly recommend you click through to the youtube site and watch the video in high quality.


I drove into the big city of Mpls. Saturday night

It's ultra-convenient to be a 2-hour drive away from kulchur.

It's ultra-convenient to be a 2-hour drive away from kulchur.

and saw a legendary rock show that exceeded my outrageous expectations. I wasn’t planning to record the show but as it got rolling I decided to give a try with my digital camera’s video mode.

The concert was a benefit for Laura Kennedy of the Bush Tetras who just got a liver transplant.

Please donate to Laura’s Liver Fund at her blog.

It was moving when Laura thanked the musicians. Her old band The Bush Tetras played.

One of the best shows I’ve ever seen. Nick & Eddie’s is a great little restaurant with a lousy sound system.

09_01_17-pere-ubu-suicide-commandos-concert-024I never saw Pere Ubu or Suicide Commandos back in the day but I played their LP’s until the grooves were smooth.

09_01_17-pere-ubu-suicide-commandos-concert-022Mr. Thomas and The Commandos were explosively sublime together. David Thomas’s voice is a musical genre all its own.

Sorry for the vid quality – let’s pretend I was consciously shooting for a punk aesthetic ;^} I didn’t think my camera’s video recorder would work in the low light so I just held it at waist level, vaguely pointed it, and hoped it would grab the sound while I did my herky-jerky happy dance.

Whiskey glass in foreground and backing vocals by Samuel Z Ross, the best damned 5th grade teacher of the postmodern era.

I joined last.fm and listed The Suicide Commandos as a favorite band and the website recommended this show. Big win for social computing.

2 responses

  1. Hey Doug,
    glad you had a good time at the show, so did I!!! That was my first trip anywhere since getting out of the hospital just a week or so before.
    It was nice to see people dancing to the music that I loved to play, and my friend Felice was awesome on bass. If you thought so too, check out her band, Faith – they probably have a myspace page or something.

    Anyway, thanks for posting this. Next time I update my blog I’ll try to add a link.

    be well – Laura

    March 12, 2009 at 9:16 pm

  2. Pingback: My Most-Watched Youtube Video: Dave Thomas/Suicide Commandos Bootleg « Walden 3.0

Leave a Reply

