Makes ya wanna think.

Sometimes I worry that my brain is turning to sludge

My mind is a wobbly epiphenomenon hosted on my slightly miswired brain. I’ve lost some very specific cognitive skills due to epilepsy-induced brain damage. I worry about my subjective evaluation of my own performance.

I’ve been rewriting Hel’s Bet painfully slowly for months with very little feedback, worried that I’ve been writing crap and thinking it’s chocolate mousse.

Initial critical responses to the first 50 rewritten pages are reassuring(!) I am a happy boyo.

I just got back from a walk to my dock. This is the type of stuff I have to put up with around here:

Martel Lake from my shorefront near my dock

Sunset across Martel Lake and the tip of Ogre Island

Ogre Island

Ogre Island

I love my little slice of planet Earth.

2 responses

  1. When does the lake thaw? I used to live in Madison. My friends and I all wagered on the thaw day. I always lost! Now I live in a place with hardly any cold weather. Sigh.

    March 5, 2009 at 7:55 pm

Leave a Reply

