Makes ya wanna think.

Writing Week & Tracking the Wily Beaver

My health sucks so I shipped my horrible dogs off to a great local kennel for 5 days. I miss them a lot – we’re pretty inseparable – but my energy is low and I need to focus on the book.

The rewrite is going great! I am over halfway through implementing changes from my last edit of the paper manuscript. I’m doing a lot of structural and fill-in work. The writing is fun and I feel great about it. The structural work is still a pain to my list-hating neurons.

The day before I exiled the canines we went on an extra-long hike.

I spotted beaver tracks on Lake Almira:

Beavers drag their tails. Their track is hard to miss.

Beavers drag their tails. Their track is hard to miss.

Sometimes beavers hop in deep snow.

Sometimes beavers hop in deep snow.

We followed the tracks out of the lake up the hill:

I’m no tracker but it’s pretty hard to miss a beaver track in snow:

The double beaver track headed cross-country to the Tamarack Bog:

So I took a sidetrip to see if any pitcher plants were peeking through the partly-melted snow. Score!

Click to zoom in to see the hairs inside the pitcher that guide insects to digestive doom.

We followed the beaver tracks out of the frozen bog. I knew they were heading to Miller Camp Lake and sure enough:

When the tracks got to Miller Camp Lake they petered out on a bare South-facing slope. I think the double track was the beaver retracing his steps. Hope he had a nice outing. He led me on a great little trek.

We made our way back on the access road. It’s mud season:

Back to rewriting Hel’s Bet.

Leave a Reply

