Makes ya wanna think.

Progress!

Rewriting Hel’s Bet is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Complexity and lists and dealing with multiple documents all cause me neurological pain – sparklers in the brain. I know that if I push myself I’ll crash hard, so I try to be productive without overdoing it.

Progress is slow but it’s real. If I am a good little scribbler I’ll finish this rewrite by the end of April.

I’ve just done another read-through of the manuscript, assigning each chapter 0-4 stars depending on how much writing I have to do to finish it. About half of the chapters are good to go! That felt good.

I’m having a blast developing a new character called Gogol – a hacker/gangster who is an oily, euphemistic, bland monster. Gogol is now a key player in getting Enterprise off the ground in Baikonur. He’s got a cool sidekick/bodyguard named Motorcade who will let me exercise some of the eviler neurons in my writing lobe.

I’m also enjoying critiquing the second volume of Janice Hardy’s Healing Wars Trilogy.

Janice Hardys The Shifter will be published in October.

Janice Hardy's The Shifter will be published in October. (click for publisher's announcement)

I joined the Written in Blood writing group after they critiqued The Shifter so I get to read Vol 2 cold to see if a new series reader can enjoy the 2nd without having read the 1st.

Janice is a sure-footed writer and I’m having lots of fun reading the manuscript. It’s already been sold as part of the trilogy, so that does give the crit a different feel.

Winter decided to leave all at once (no more sledging in supplies!) so I’ve been enjoying reading out on my new deck:

Reading Janice Hardys new book

Reading Janice Hardy's new book

I stopped making music when I got ill. My brainrot doesn’t like complex order so playing music caused me pain. I’ve decided to push myself in some of my weak areas so I tuned up my lap harp and have started to learn it all over again.

I got my lap harp as a 40th birthday gift and took lessons for a while.

I got my lap harp as a 40th birthday gift and took lessons for a while.

The lake is a few weeks from opening up. Most of the snow has melted. Today I smelled Spring for the first time.

Can’t wait to canoe.

Closeup of ice melting on the shore of Martel Lake.

Closeup of ice melting on the shore of Martel Lake.

Leave a Reply

