Makes ya wanna think.

Just sent this email about Hel’s Bet to Written in Blood – my kickass writing group

Finishing this rewrite of Hel’s Bet is the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

The current state of my brain is hyper-sensitive to complex sorting and scheduling and pretty much anything that has to do with making correspondences between 2 documents (forget 3!) or within a document.

Looking back over my writing of the past months I discovered that the only time I got momentum going is when I had completely new chapters to write – that was reassuring and eye opening. That means that I can still write (or so you guys assure me – I don’t think you say nice things about HB out of pity for your brain-damaged colleague ;^).

I had thought that by digesting my rewrite notes into a simpler form I would break the rewrite logjam but instead I just concentrated all the things my brain hates.

I came up with a solution that I know is going to work. I decided that what I need is a daily list of writing tasks that I can check off as I finish them. Assembling that list and sticking to it is a toughy for me so I asked my friend and aide Brook to collaborate more closely with me on the text. We are meeting at his coffee shop, Café Wren – http://www.cafewren.com – at 2.

I love collaboration. I know this is going to work!

Will share news of my new writing regime’s success.

Still trying to wring art and joy out of my balky lump of neurons,

Doug

Canoeing around Ogre Island last night

Canoeing around Ogre Island last night looking furtive

2 responses

  1. Hey Doug,

    I discovered Cafe Wren last fall, and when I spend more than a weekend at the cabin called Sidetrack, I’ll drop in to Cafe Wren for good coffee and an Internet fix.

    We should share a cuppa some day when it works out for us to be there at the same time.

    May 11, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    • I am always here, so let me know!

      May 20, 2009 at 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

