Makes ya wanna think.

Next Challenges

I jumped the gun a bit on my Bye, Bye Brainrot post. I have broken the back of my pain (!!!) but my cognitive problems are still problems. I can completely douse the pain when I am quiet and at rest, but dealing with complexity and intense interactions reinflames it. The important thing is that I can control the pain AND I can work around my cognitive limitations.

The fact that I can now control my pain when at rest is the important thing for now. I continue to be able to exercise more, enjoy myself more, and write more!

My problems with complexity made drawing the following diagram a huge challenge to me (it took many. many hours), but it was worth the work and pain to help me visualize what I’m up to with my neuroplastic exercises:

When dealing with my “kryptonite tasks” – lists, intense conversations, sequencing things in time – my pain returns bigtime. I can now take a break and reduce it to zero. I am confident that I can reclaim the skills I lost through neuroplastic exercises – drawing and music and programming. After I finish and sell Hel’s Bet I plan to get in touch with experts in neuroplasticity for evaluation and design of rehabilitative exercises specific to my cognitive losses.

I’m at Cafe Wren waiting for the car to be tuned up for the drive to Philly for a big family reunion. I recommend their Pecan Feta Spinach salad. Yum.

4 responses

  1. Nhoj

    Nice chart. I’m wishing you a happy and healthy thalamus. If you can’t have that, then a happy and healthy carp.

    June 5, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    • Thanks, Nhoj. My life is soooo much better now that I can control the pain at rest.

      Carp are considered rough fish in Wisconsin.

      June 6, 2009 at 11:34 pm

  2. myrna

    You are an amazing man. I highly respect you for your courage and positive attitude. YOU will find ‘whole peace’ with your pain.

    June 6, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    • Thanks, Myrna. I got my positive attitude from my folks and it’s been a life saver.

      June 6, 2009 at 11:36 pm

Leave a Reply

