Makes ya wanna think.

What I did on my Summer Vacation

Before I started my own blog I noticed in blogs I followed that sometimes the busiest times in a bloggers life are the least blogged. June was a huge month for me and I’ve been putting every word I have into Hel’s Bet.

I’ll do a photo-essay of June.

I drove east to Philadelphia for a big family reunion in mid-June.
I chopped my hair off and drove east to Philadelphia for a big family reunion in mid-June.
Unfortunately the Subaru engine blew up (hole in the engine block) in Amherst OH. Bless AAA!
Unfortunately the Subaru engine blew up (hole in the engine block) in Amherst OH. I was ready to head back to The Pad but Margaret saved the day by renting a car for us to drive the rest of the way to Philly. Thanks, Magoo!
My wonderful cousin Dave and his gorgeous and talented wife Anne Sophie to great care of Mika and Travis at the Llama Ranch. Mika and Travis escaped and had a night of adventure before the SPCA found them and called. Thanks Dave and Anne Sophie!
My wonderful cousin Dave and his gorgeous and talented wife Anne Sophie took great care of Mika and Travis at their Llama Ranch. Mika and Travis escaped and had a night of adventure before the SPCA found them and called. Thanks Dave and Anne Sophie!

We had a great big Graduation Party for Miles (High School - heading to UConn) and Josh (Drexel -heading into the turbulent music industry). I was able to enjoy the party immensely because I could rest and control the pain at any time. It was great!
We had a great big Graduation Party for Miles (High School – heading to UConn) and Josh (Drexel -heading into the turbulent music industry). I was able to enjoy the party immensely because I could rest and control the pain at any time. It was great!
Diane and John and Mom and Joan and Yours Truly together again!

We took a day trip to our traditional family beach - Ocean City NJ. Weve got lots of traditions at OC starting with lunch at this pink restaurant, The Chatterbox.
We took a day trip to our traditional family beach – Ocean City NJ. We’ve got lots of traditions at OC starting with lunch at this pink restaurant, The Chatterbox.
We built a cool sand castle.
We built a cool sand castle.
The traditional burying of The Uncle.
The traditional burying of The Uncle.
We walked the boardwalk to buy salt water taffy at Schrivers.
We walked the boardwalk to buy salt water taffy at Schriver’s.
Mom took on all comers at Skeeball.
Mom took on all comers at Skeeball.
Grandmom Almira is proud of Margaret for winning a stuffed wombat.
Grandmom Almira is proud of Margaret for winning a stuffed wombat.
Sunsets in Ocean City are a bit different from the ones Im used to at Martel Lake.
Sunsets in Ocean City are a bit different from the ones I’m used to at Martel Lake.
Margaret bought a nice hat.
Margaret bought a nice hat.
To get back to The Pad Margaret rented us a nice car and we dropped by Dave and Anne Sophies Llama Farm (their house was build in 1740) to pick up the dogs. Thanks Dave and Anne Sophie!
To get back to The Pad Margaret rented us a nice car and we dropped by Dave and Anne Sophie’s Llama Farm (their house was built in 1740) to pick up the dogs. Thanks cousin Dave and Anne Sophie!
The 4 of us driv back to Wisconsin.
The 4 of us driv back to Wisconsin.

Mika was overjoyed to spend time with her Margaret.
Mika was overjoyed to spend quality lap time with her Margaret.
When we got back to The Pad summer was well under way. Pumpkinseeds were nesting in the shallows.
When we got back to The Pad summer was well under way. Pumpkinseeds were nesting in the shallows.
We love having Margaret at The Pad.
We love having Margaret at The Pad.
We had yummy pancakes for Daddys Day.
We had yummy pancakes for Daddy’s Day.
Margaret (and Mika) helped me organize precious archives for my biographer ;^)
Margaret (and Mika) helped me organize precious archives for my biographer ;^)
We took some vigorous hikes on deer trails.
We took some vigorous hikes on deer trails.
Its not often I have a photographer along on a hike.
It’s not often I have a photographer along on a hike.
Margaret had to go back to Seattle. We miss her.
Margaret had to go back to Seattle. We miss her.
Although we miss Margaret we cant feel too sorry for ourselves - Its Summer at The Pad!
Although we miss Margaret we can’t feel too sorry for ourselves – It’s Summer at The Pad!

Leave a Reply

