Makes ya wanna think.

Servant of the Underworld by Aliette de Bodard

My writing group, Written in Blood, continues to inspire me. Four of the eight of us now have agents and two books are on the shelves: Janice Hardy’sThe Healing Wars: Book I: The Shifter” and Aliette de Bodard’sServant of the Underworld: Bk. 1: Obsidian and Blood Trilogy“, which is on the shelves in England and will come out in the US this September:

Servant of the Underworld is a great read – an Aztec supernatural thriller. My writing group critiqued the book last year and I enjoyed it thoroughly – I knew Aliette had a real book on her hands. I’m not a fantasy buff but Aliette pulled me right into her world of scheming gods. Some images from the book, such as an appearance by the god Smoking Mirror, still give me the willies. Aliette has created a cool promo video for it:

Enthusiastic reviews are starting to appear and Aliette is collecting them on her blog. Some snippets:

“All in all, Aliette’s Servant of the Underworld is an incredibly strong and promising debut, showing her talents at full effect – she can create amazing, believable worlds; her characters are solid and relatable, and she knows how to do interesting magic, great action and creepiness in spades.” Dave Brendon’s Fantasy & Scifi Weblog

“I was totally knocked over by her deft use of Aztec history and legend to totally rivet me from the opening to the end.” Lateral Books Blog

This month we get to critique the 2nd book in Aliettte’s Obsidian and Blood Trilogy. It’s fun critting books that are going to see print.

It’s inspiring to watch the success of the other members of Written in Blood. This Summer Dario Ciriello’s Panverse Publishing is anthologizing short stories from each of us in a book called Eight Against Reality, which has a great cover:

My story in the collection is “The Flying Squids of Zondor”, an over-the-top space opera which I plan to record as a podcast with the cast of Clarion West inmates who performed it in 2002.

I got some good work done on the synopsis of “Palin/Cheney 2012” today. I continue to push Hel’s Bet in the Singularity community.

4 responses

  1. myrna

    So cool so to see the magic in creating stories, than onto the publishing.

    February 18, 2010 at 6:20 am

  2. Thanks for the link! 🙂 Sounds like a great writing group, and I’m sure every one of you will be filling shelves with your work before long. 🙂

    February 18, 2010 at 9:18 am

    • Thanks, Dave. Watch for my book Hel’s Bet!

      February 18, 2010 at 10:44 am

  3. Will do, Doug! 🙂

    February 23, 2010 at 7:33 am

Leave a Reply

