Makes ya wanna think.

Brainrot update

I still have control of my pain when I’m at rest. When I’m in neurological pain I can stop what I’m doing and perform a few toe exercises and stop the pain. That fact is an amazing upgrade to my life.

Pretty much any activity involving my brain still produces pain, but I can rest and recover between bouts.

I’m in better shape than I’ve been in a decade. Walks no longer exhaust me so I walk 2 to 3 times more than a year ago, probably averaging 1 1/2 miles of vigorous hiking a day.

I’ve started a structured diet to whittle off some of the winter’s lard. Every other day I eat 1/4 my usual amount – a light lunch spread over the day. It’s a great way of getting some of the benefits of calorie restriction without true fasting. Food tastes great on the semi-fasting days!

Writing is still a bit painful, but it’s getting easier. Finishing Hel’s Bet wore my neurons to a nub. That’s been the pattern of my brainrot – pushing hard on a project and paying for it with pain and degraded cognitive skills for months or years. I feel good that I gave my all to Hel’s Bet.

Time to walk the pooches in melty snow and then do some Hel’s Bet PR.

2 responses

  1. jdlaughead

    Try Semi-Fasting, which really is just Juicing your food, after you have chewed it and got all the flavor and juice out of it swallowed it, then you just drop the bulk out of your mouth and in a cup, and give it to the dog or throw it out to the birds. The Ants have been doing it for over 300 million years, and they are still around. To bad humans couldn’t figure it out. I love it and do it all the time. http://www.popsci.com/node/22953

    March 5, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    • I’ll give it a try! I’m finding the 1/4 diet on alternate days to be easy to follow but this will be an additional trick to use.

      March 6, 2010 at 2:15 pm

Leave a Reply

