Makes ya wanna think.

Three Swans at Sunset on Martel Lake

I canoed last night at sunset and a pair of Trumpeter Swans followed me around the big island. As the sun went down they were silhouetted and I jockeyed my canoe to keep the sun behind them as I snapped pix.

I heard a flock of Trumpeters overhead and switched to video as a new swan swooped in:

The newcomer eventually hung out with the pair.

I hope that these two swans are the pair that successfully raised cygnets on Martel two years ago and last year on a neighboring lake.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Three Swans Pictures at Flickr

Last year the loons drove all swans from Martel Lake. This year so far only the male loon is present and I haven’t heard any battles. I saw the swans today in the marshy bay where they nested 2 years ago so I am hopeful I’ll get to watch them raise a family of little swans again.

Travis knows not to mess with Trumpeter Swans:

4 responses

  1. Craig Markwardt

    Nice shots! I’m guessing Travis knows not to mess with swans from his own experience? 🙂

    April 11, 2010 at 11:31 pm

  2. Ken Wedding

    Great news. Here’s hoping for success for the swans.

    April 12, 2010 at 4:01 am

  3. myrna

    :*)

    April 12, 2010 at 11:56 am

  4. Doug, it’s hard to imagine you writing your wild stories from such a serene environment where you live. I’m surprised you can even think of Sarah Palin way out there in the woods. It’s weird how we have dual lives. Where we live physically, and where we live mentally.

    I’d love to come visit Walden 3.0 in person, but it probably won’t happen. In the past few years I’ve been having back problems, especially after I go for walks. I used to walk 3 miles a day for pleasure. It turns out I have spinal stenosis and walking, standing, or lying perfectly flat crimps my spinal cord. I do okay if I do my physical theraphy exercises, so I get around enough to go to work but not much else. Luckily I can sit in a straight chair pretty good and work at the computer.

    I’d love to live where you do and be able to hike, canoe, observe nature and hang out with the dogs. Do you have a telescope? I’m glad you take so many photos and make films. Memphis is full of crime, so I don’t watch the local news or read the papers. Maybe someday I can retire to a spot of nature like your homestead.

    It’s a shame all us Clarion West graduates have drifted away. What do you hear from the squids? I saw on Traci’s blog she has a story in the latest Realms of Fantasy.

    April 17, 2010 at 6:19 am

Leave a Reply

