Makes ya wanna think.

Clarion West Write-a-thon Wrapup and Querying

Thanks to all who donated to my Clarion West Write-a-thon drive. If you’d like to donate to Clarion West in my name please go to my Write-a-thon page. Clarion West is boot camp for speculative fiction writers and donations keep it affordable for poor wannabe writers. The 6 weeks I spent at CW in 2002 convinced me that I could become a writer if I worked hard at it.

I achieved my major W-a-t goals. I finished Channel Zilch and wrote a query letter (with a lot of help from my friends) and started sending it to agents. So far I’ve sent 8 queries and have already got 3 rejections! GAME ON!

Here’s the query letter:

Dear Ms./Mr. Agent:

[Custom intro sentence for each agent explaining why I think Channel Zilch will blow their socks off.]

Mick Oolfson shitcans his astronaut career by stunt-flying a shuttle during re-entry. He’s miserable as a groundling so when testosterone-surfing geek goddess Heloise Chin offers him an astronaut gig on Channel Zilch, a pirate orbiting reality show, Mick jumps at the chance to return to space, though it means denting his Boy Scout scruples by swiping space shuttle Enterprise from the Smithsonian.

Launching Enterprise is a longer shot than relaunching Mick’s NASA career, but to ride a rocket again he’ll endure the reeking Turkish freighter, Potent Bull, and tangle with the Russian Mafiya who infest Baikonur Cosmodrome. Mick’s prime worry is Hel herself: Is Channel Zilch her real goal or is it just a cover for a plot to hack the Universe?

Channel Zilch is a 96k-word near-future sci-fi caper with heart and purpose, the first book of The Geek Rapture Project. Book 2, Hel’s Bet, is complete in draft.

I’d love to work with you.

Best,
Doug Sharp

Time to spend some quality time with QueryTracker picking the next agent to query. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

