Makes ya wanna think.

My Most-Watched Youtube Video: Dave Thomas/Suicide Commandos Bootleg

Two years ago tonight I saw one of the best rock shows of my life: a benefit for Laura Kennedy of the Bush Tetras with a stellar line-up. I titled my original post “Rock Show for the Ages: Pere Ubu’s Dave Thomas, Suicide Commandos, Bush Tetras.”

Halfway through the show I decided to try video mode of my camera. I held it at waist level and vaguely pointed it at the stage.  I wasn’t too hopeful about the results. I kept pointing it at the musicians while I did my little happy dance.

Two years later I’m flabbergasted that 27,517 people have watched my crunchy bootleg video. Which averages out to just about 38 viewers every day.

The video is a vertiginous, glitchy, hard-rocking 11 minutes of Pere Ubu classics: Non-Alignment Pact, Final Solution, and Cloud 149.

I love the fan comments:

F’in BRILLIANT! Thanks for posting!

crunchy is right! But it’s perfect for the music!!!!

Commandos AND Ubu? Mind-blowing!  5 stars even with the “punk aesthetic” camerawork!

fucking amazing!! 5/5 if it weren’t for the sound quality

Now, that’s some STUNNING eleven minutes!! Wish I could’ve been there!!

YESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 responses

  1. Sam

    ’twas the perfect pairing of scotch and punk…whatatime!

    January 22, 2011 at 8:39 am

    • Twas a brilliant evening of music and whiskey!

      January 22, 2011 at 10:58 am

Leave a Reply

