Makes ya wanna think.

End of a Long Winter

This winter has been by far the longest and snowiest since I moved to The Pad 7 years ago. Last year I was canoeing by March 19th – Martel Lake is still iced tight.

2011-02-08 Casey snowshoe hike with Brook and Stephanie 0032011-02-09 Casey snowshoe hike with Brook and Stephanie 003

It was a social winter. Casey Muratori flew out from Seattle and survived a subzero week. We had some great snowshoeing expeditions. I taught him how to make coffee and bake bread and he diagnosed my broken desktop computer (fritzed monitor) and set up an Amiga.

2011-02-08 Hiking with Casey 003
Casey as the Ice Ninja
2011-02-08 Hiking with Casey 005

Ice Ninja stalker

2011-02-09 Casey snowshoe hike with Brook and Stephanie 013

Casey displays his mutant power: Growing tiny glass beads on his unibrow

We spent a couple of raucous evenings celebrating my 59th birthday with Brook and Stephanie at their lovely home.

2011-02-09 Casey snowshoe hike with Brook and Stephanie 0582011-02-09 Casey snowshoe hike with Brook and Stephanie 057

Myrna Mae Berg came to The Pad to celebrate my birthday and to take pictures for my itsu jitsu moogy-woogy album, Boogafoo Music.

2011-02-19 Myrna Boogafoo Album Art Photography 0102011-02-19 Myrna Boogafoo Album Art Photography 0092011-02-19 Myrna Boogafoo Album Art Photography 100

I got some great Channel Zilch news. Angry Robot Books opened for unagented submissions in March and so I sent them the first 15k words of CZ. A few days later I got email:

Dear Doug,

Thank you for submitting a sample from Channel Zilch. I enjoyed what I read, and would like to read more. Please send the full novel to XXX@angryrobotbooks.com in Word, RTF or PDF format.

WOOHOO! I spent a few days editing the manuscript and sent it to Angry Robot. Checking my email is rather thrilling as I await their response.

2 responses

  1. Lyn Aspey

    Hey Droog, wonderful update : super good-lucks on the novel submission. Thinking of ya. Lyn.

    April 11, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Leave a Reply

