Makes ya wanna think.

The Martel Loons are back!

I’ve been worried about “my” Loons because some Loons winter in the Gulf, which was oily from the BP spill. So when I heard a Loon cry from Martel Lake two days ago I was ecstatic and when I heard an answering Loon cry from Miller Camp Lake I stopped worrying – the local population is safe.

Yesterday I paddled out to Loon-watch and found the pair in the marshy bay where they’ve nested the past few years. Martel is about 2 feet higher than last year and their islet nesting spot is underwater, so I bet they return to their old nesting spot on the shore of a big island.

I stay far away from the Loons while they nest, so this photo is the best my little cam could do.

I love watching the Loons raise their young. The call of the Loon is the soul of summer at The Pad.

2 responses

  1. myrna

    Sweet!

    April 17, 2011 at 6:27 pm

  2. Lucky you! I love the cry of the loons. A beautiful post.

    May 12, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

