Makes ya wanna think.

Angry Robot News: Scraping Myself off the Ceiling

The Angry Robot reader gave a big thumbs up to Channel Zilch:

Hi Doug,

I hope this makes your day – I will be putting Channel Zilch through to Marc and Lee [heads of Angry Robot]. It’s certainly one of the most unique styles and voices that I’ve read in a story! I do think it’s a very Marmite way of writing, so either people will love it or hate it. I loved it, the boys may not, but we can only try.

From here on in it goes into a standard submission procedure. Don’t expect to hear anything for at least 8-10 weeks, if not longer. Both Marc and Lee will read the novel and both have to give agreement before it goes in front of the Osprey/Angry Robot marketing board, who also have to give agreement. There are still many hurdles to jump but you’ve cleared the first.

Best,

[An Angry Robot reader with exquisite literary taste]

Um, !!!!!!WOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

2011-05-01 Myrna's 2011 Birthday Treasure Hunt 150

Random Picture of Doug looking happy. Cap'n Jack Sparrow follows my fashion innovations slavishly.

I love her description of my writing style as Marmite: strongly flavored; you either love it or hate it.

CZ still has major hurdles as listed above, but this is another indication that itโ€™s not complete crap ;^)

A much-needed boost! My health continues to scrape bottom. Just had to cancel a trip to Philly for my Momโ€™s 80th because Iโ€™m too sick right now. I doubt that I will accomplish much on Castle Rising this month.

Another small step on my arduous but inevitable journey to the Nobel Prize for Literachewer!

Next step: Write the MarmiteStyle Manifesto.

10 responses

  1. Debi

    Ah, hurdle clearing… so much fun! ๐Ÿ™‚ Gratz Doug!

    August 8, 2011 at 12:49 pm

  2. Lyn

    WOWOWOWOWOWOWOW! I’m so happy to read this news Droog. May the WooWoo flow (and may the Angry Robot board be dedicated Marmite eaters … as opposed to, say, Vegemite! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    This is very sweet news. I am sorry to hear that your health is down right now. Um, might it have something to do with that disembodied arm pictured on your shoulder? That would disturb Love the hairdo, tho. Thinking of you, with muchest happiness. xoxox -Lyn.

    August 8, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  3. This makes me so happy I could burst ๐Ÿ˜€

    August 8, 2011 at 1:59 pm

  4. Awesomely wonderful. Arm looks familiar;*) Like the happy hairdo face.I could never be happier. Makes me cry for joy. You so deserve such great news. A great hurdle cleared. I am in the side lines cheering for the next.

    August 8, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  5. I am cheering for you, Doug. I really hope the next folks like it *more* even than Amanda did!

    August 8, 2011 at 5:51 pm

  6. Thanks, all. I hope the AR editors like Marmite!

    August 8, 2011 at 5:55 pm

  7. Eric George

    Way to go! You really are an inspiration to me.

    August 9, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    • Thanks, Eric. That means a lot to me.

      August 9, 2011 at 10:05 pm

  8. Pingback: Mini bus hire in Castle Rising : Coach Hire in Castle Rising

  9. Pingback: 14 Years « Walden 3.0

Leave a Reply

