Makes ya wanna think.

Rhythm of the Seasons: Stacking Firewood

This is my 8th autumn at The Pad, the 8th time I’ve stacked firewood for the winter.

2011-10-15 First firewood stacking session 002

Six face cords of oak: $390. 3 canisters of propane: $240. A winter’s warmth.

The Wengers, local firewood barons, dumped the wood outside my fence 2 weeks ago.

2011-10-15 First firewood stacking session 005

I’ll try to haul 12 wheelbarrows of wood to my shelter every day—over 160 split logs. That’s about 1 row of logs in the small wood shelter.

2011-10-15 First firewood stacking session 012

Travis “helps” me every year by walking in front of the wheelbarrow and grinning at me while I stack the wood.  My dogs appreciate a good Stupid Human Trick.

2011-10-15 First firewood stacking session 009

12 loads takes a nice bite out of the pile.

Next autumn I hope to stack wood at my new cabin in Washington state.

4 responses

  1. Lyn

    It’s nice to think of you being all toasty in your cabin, and I know (having done much the same myself) how nice it is to relax in front of that fire and know that the hard work as already been done! Enjoy. Roast some marshmallows for me. xoxo

    October 16, 2011 at 6:33 pm

  2. Thanks, Lyn! I’ve got a fire burning right now and it feels oh, so cozy. Hugs.

    October 17, 2011 at 5:10 am

  3. Pingback: Put a Lid on It: Log Rack Covers | Log Racks Deal Grabber

  4. Pingback: Stuff and Nonsense « Walden 3.0

Leave a Reply

