Makes ya wanna think.

Doug “Droog” Sharp Bio

1973-9 Taught Special Ed and 5th grade
Taught myself how to program by bringing school Apple II’s home on weekends.

80’s My Games ChipWits and The King of Chicago

88-92: Epilepsy disables me and ends my game career.

92-7: Worked as a coder and manager in Microsoft Research’s Virtual Worlds Group. Sexy tech, awesome coworkers–geeks, artists, musicians.

97-2003: Epilepsy Disables me and causes brain damage

Seizures damaged my thalamus, causing Central Pain Syndrome and cognitive loss.
I can no longer program or do math. Talking became painful.
Video 2: How am I?

2002: Spent 6 glorious, painful weeks at the sci-fi writing workshop Clarion West

2004-2012:To heal I moved to a remote lakeside Wisconsin cabin where Janet Brissom visited me.

2012: Moved to Vashon Island, an enchanted isle in Puget Sound.

2013-14: Finished Channel Zilch and Hel’s Bet.
Here’s An article about why it took me 21 years to write Channel Zilch.

2018: Proudly donated my game development archive to Seattle’s Living Computers Museum and Lab.

Currently working on a Middle-Grade (age 10-16) sci-fi book called Castle Rising–Medieval Kids vs. Alien Pirates. I hope to finish by the end of the year.

Also recording the audiobook of Channel Zilch,

One response

  1. Pingback: ChipWits is Looking for a Publisher – ChipWits

Leave a comment